Diaper Cover

Item: Diaper Cover
As seen on: Dana Made It (Made)
You can find the tutorial/pattern here!
Why I wanted to make this: I figured that throughout the summer, Everett would probably be in just a diaper a lot and I wanted to be able to make sure that he is able to still look cute! I also really love diaper covers for little girls so I will probably be making a bunch of these for my friends who have daughters!
First try: My first attempt at this went very well, especially because my grandmother was in town and she helped me to learn the basics that I needed to complete the project. When we made the first diaper cover it came out a lot smaller than I thought it would be.
Deviations from the tutorial/pattern: One thing that I found came in handy was to zig-zag around the perimeter of the two pieces of fabric prior to sewing them together.  Also, I wanted to add a trim of color to the top however I didn’t have any bias tape. Since I was too impatient to wait until the fabric store was open to go and by some I decided to use a piece of fabric as trim. Here’s what I did: first I created the diaper cover as the directions stated and stopped before creating the casing for the elastic in the waste.  Second, I cut a piece of fabric that was 2 ¼” wide and as long as the the waste of the diaper cover plus ¼.” You will need to hem one of the short ends of the fabric and zig-zag around the remaining edges to prevent fraying. Next, I attached the fabric to the waste of the diaper cover using a quarter of an inch inseam ensuring that when the piece overlaps the hemmed edge is out. Finally, I finished the rest of the diaper cover as explained in the tutorial.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Try it out!

About Ever After Crafts Company

Working my way through craft ideas and patterns one project at a time!

Posted on July 10, 2011, in Dana Made It (Made), Tutorial, Unisex Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love these!!! Totally adorable! Also, I know that the ones with the ruffles on the butts sell like crazy on etsy for girls(if you want a new business venture lol). Photographers love to use them as props too….just a suggestion;)

Leave a Reply

