Cloth Diapers, Clothesline, and a New Outlook on Life

A little over three months ago my life changed drastically with the birth of my sweet baby boy, Everett.  I never knew how much I could love someone until I saw him. 

In planning for his birth my husband and I knew that we wanted to provide him with the most “natural” life that we could- with the exception of the epidural!! 🙂  Kudos to y’all who can do without it!  I’ve always been pretty “crunchy” (granola, hippy, whatever you want to call it) so I knew that I would want to breastfeed my baby as well as “wear” him in a wrap.  I had heard of cloth diapering but I wasn’t sure if I would be up for it- I did know that it was much better for the environment as well as for my wallet!  When I started researching cloth diapering I was surprised and excited (yes, excited) to see how far cloth diapers had come!

"Old School" Cloth Diapers

It was out with the “Old School” cloth diapers and in with the “New School” diapers.  There are so many types: pockets, all-in-ones (AOIs), prefolds, fitted, covers, and contours!  I didn’t know where to start!  After many hours of research and careful consideration Tyler and I decided that cloth diapering was the best way to go for our family.  We would be able to save money as well as not contribute to the landfills.  Thanks to some friends I was able to navigate my way through the world of cloth diapers and figure out the ones that work best for my baby.  I use one size pocket diapers for Everett, if you were wondering!  (There are a few links at the bottom of the page for anyone that may be interested in learning more about cloth diapers!)

"New School" Cloth Diapers

After cloth diapering Everett for about a month, I decided that I wanted a clothesline and I was determined to figure out a way to get one.  “Sunning” your diapers helps to naturally remove stains as well as sanitize the diapers.  I browsed the internet to find different ideas and helpful hints but couldn’t really come up with something that would work in our backyard where we have lots of sun in an area but not very much “yard.”  My husband and my dad are pretty handy so I recruited them to help me figure this out.  They decided that they would build the clothesline off of our existing wooden pathway that goes down the side of the house to the basement.  This is the optimum spot as the sun hits it directly for 8 or more hours a day.  

Wanna build your own clothes line?  Here’s how they did it:

Items you will need:
1- 20ft Wire Rope Dog Run
1- 2×4
2- Eye Hooks
Screws and Drill
Saw

How to do it:

First, you will want to decide where to put up your clothesline. Tyler and my dad decided to use the wooden pathway leading down to the basement.

 

Next, cut your 2x4 into two- they cut this one into different sizes since the pathway is on an incline. This made the clothesline more level.

 

Attach the 2x4 at the base by using the screws and the drill.

Screw in the eye hook. You may want to use a wrench or the like to help you get it in nice and tight.

 

Repeat the last two steps.

 

Hook the dog run onto both posts...

 

.. and TA-DA!

 

Instant clothesline! Thanks guys!

So this might not work in your backyard, but maybe there is an idea or two that you can use if you are looking for a way to put up a clothesline! 🙂
 

Diapers out on the line!

If you’re interested in learning more about cloth diapering here are a few links to check out!  Please feel free to email me if you would like to learn more about cloth diapers, breast-feeding, baby “wearing,” etc,  I would be more than happy to give you any information or advice!

 
 
 
Happy building! 🙂
 
 
About Ever After Crafts Company

Working my way through craft ideas and patterns one project at a time!

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Around the House, Ever After Crafts Company, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are such a cool, crafty and resourceful Mom, Laura! I’m so proud of you!!

  1. Pingback: early adventures into cloth diapering « Are we there yet?

Leave a Reply

